The Van Wert County Courthouse

Friday, Jun. 5, 2020

L’view’s Bowyer takes second at NWC

VW independent sports/submitted information

COLUMBUS GROVE – Allen East scored 341 points to take the 2020 Northwest Conference wrestling championship at Columbus Grove High School on Saturday. It was Allen East’s fourth consecutive NWC wrestling championship and the school’s ninth overall.

Lincolnview’s Dylan Bowyer (right) finished as the runner up in the 160 weight class at the NWC wrestling tournament. Photo courtsey of Carrie Hendricks

Spencerville finished second with 223 points while Bluffton took third at 218.5 points. Allen East led the way with six individual champions while Bluffton had four individual champs. Lincolnview finished eighth with 73 points.

Lincolnview’s highest placer was Dylan Bowyer, who finished second in the 160 pound weight class. Bowyer opened with a pin of Paulding’s Preston Hull in 1:04, followed by a pin of Columbus Grove’s Tanner Blankemeyer in 3:06. He then pinned Ben McKee of Delphos Jefferson in 4:37, then defeated Justin Flanders of Columbus Grove 9-2, before losing via pin (:53) to defending NWC champion Blake Hershberger of Allen Easte in the final round.

Lancer wrestler Tyler Ulery enjoyed a third place finish at 170 pounds. Ulery was pinned by Allen East’s Caleb Jones in 2:23, but came back and pinned Paulding’s Cayden Breier in 46 seconds, then pinned Spencerville’s Carson Roberts in 3:50, before defeating another Bearcat, Reyce Robey 9-4.

In addition, Lincolnview’s Tristan Taylor (113) and Louis Ulrey (285) each finished fourth and teammates Maddy Allen and Evan Hefner placed eighth at 126 and 138 respectively.

Repeat winners from last year included Tayton Kleman (Bluffton-113), Jeremy Sturgeon (Bluffton – 120), Drake Carmean (Allen East-126), Chase Miller (Allen East-152), Blake Hershberger (Allen East-160), and Ezra Jones (Columbus Grove-170).

Individual NWC champions are listed below:

106 – Thayne Kleman (Bluffton)
113 – Tayton Kleman (Bluffton)
120 – Jeremy Sturgeon (Bluffton)
126 – Drake Carmean (Allen East)
132 – Jordan Mudel (Paulding)
138 – Kade Wireman (Allen East)
145 – Gage Wireman (Allen East)
152 – Chase Miller (Allen East)
160 – Blake Hershberger (Allen East)
170 – Ezra Jones (Columbus Grove)
182 – Cole Mabis (Paulding)
195 – Garrett Neth (Allen East
220 – Landen Luginbuh (Bluffton)
285 – Jeff Meyer (Columbus Grove)

Allen East senior Garrett Neth (195) was voted Wrestler of the Year in the NWC and Mike Abbey of Allen East was voted by his peers as NWC Coach of the Year.

POSTED: 02/17/20 at 4:55 am. FILED UNDER: Sports