The Van Wert County Courthouse

Thursday, Apr. 2, 2020

Davis named Ohio Mr. Basketball 2020

Submitted information

COLUMBUS — Columbus Walnut Ridge High School senior VonCameron Davis was announced as Ohio Mr. Basketball Wednesday by a statewide media panel.

VonCameron Davis

Now in its 33rd year, the prestigious award was first given by the Associated Press in 1988. It has been voted by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association since 2017.

The 6-5, 220-pound Davis led Walnut Ridge to a 22-5 record and the school’s first Columbus City League championship since 1971. He averaged 26.2 points and 10.3 rebounds per game and shot 52.7 percent from the field. He will continue his academic and basketball career at Kent State University.

Davis and former Northland High School standout Jared Sullinger, a two-time Mr. Basketball honoree, are the only boys basketball players to earn first-team All-Columbus City League honors all four years.

Other finalists for the award were Christopher “CJ” Anthony of Harvest Prep, Luke Powell of Barnesville, Josiah Fulcher of Lima Senior, Grant Whisman of Middletown Madison, Zach Rasile of McDonald, Malaki Branham of Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary and John Hugley of Lyndhurst Brush.

Ohio Mr. Basketball Ohio winners

2020 – VonCameron Davis, Columbus Walnut Ridge
2019 – Samari Curtis, Xenia
2018 – Dane Goodwin, Upper Arlington
2017 – Kaleb Wesson, Westerville South
2016 – Xavier Simpson, Lima Senior
2015 – 2014 Luke Kennard, Franklin High School
2013 – Marc Loving, Toledo St. John’s Jesuit
2012 – Justin Fritts, Mentor
2011 – Trey Burke, Columbus Northland
2010 – Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland
2009 – Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland
2008 – William Buford, Toledo Libbey
2007 – Jon Diebler, Upper Sandusky
2006 – O.J. Mayo, North College Hill
2005 – O.J. Mayo, North College Hill
2004 – Jamar Butler, Lima Shawnee
2003 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2002 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2001 – LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary
2000 – (tie) Tony Stockman, Medina; Chester Mason, Cleveland South
1999 – Isaac Jefferson, Columbus West
1998 – William “Sonny” Johnson, Garfield Heights
1997 – Kenny Gregory, Independence
1996 – Jason Collier, Springfield Catholic
1995 – Damon Stringer, Cleveland Heights
1994 – Aaron Hutchins, Lima Central Catholic
1993 – Geno Ford, Cambridge
1992 – Greg Simpson, Lima Senior
1991 – Greg Simpson, Lima Senior
1990 – Bob Patton Jr., Youngstown Liberty
1989 – Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber
1988 – Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber

POSTED: 03/19/20 at 3:52 am. FILED UNDER: Sports